Announcing SFBP / SFYBP Toy Drive!

San Francisco Bike Party (SFBP) and San Francisco Yellow Bike Project (SFYBP) are joining forces on Friday, December 7, 2012 to gather toys and bikes for children for the upcoming holiday season. The toys will be given to a local fire station at the end of the ride on Friday night. The bikes will be inspected and repaired by SFYBP before being distributed to kids via a school-based bike swap.

The two organizations will be collecting toys and bikes for one night only during the monthly SFBP ride. They are asking the public to please bring any new and unwrapped toys to any of the resting locations during the ride. The ride will gather at McCovey Cove around 7:30 pm. There will be two stops at South Park in SOMA and Pier 7 along the Embarcadero. Please check SFBP’s twitter (@sfbikeparty) for the rest area drop off times on Friday, December 7th. The ending location will be Showplace Triangle at the intersection of 16th and 8th streets at approximately 11pm.

People who ride with SFBP and bring a toy or bike parts will be given a spoke card. The organizations want to encourage all of the community, including those who cannot ride SFBP, to give toys and any used bikes or bike parts to this toy drive.

San Francisco Bike Party is on the first Friday of every month, and their mission is to build community through biking.

San Francisco Yellow Bike Project is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit community bike shop that uses the bicycle to empower our community. The SFYBP’s mission is to get more people on more bikes in the streets of San Francisco.

follow us on twitter!!
@sfbikeparty
@sfyellowbike

13 Comments

Filed under toy drive

13 responses to “Announcing SFBP / SFYBP Toy Drive!

  1. Abram

    I’d love to join the ride, but I have no idea where “McCovey Cove” is…

    • magellan@google.com

      Google…. Wikipedia…
      With a barrier to entry of this magnitude…
      perhaps staying home with Netflix would be a better option .

      • If I didn’t already have a friend who’s much cooler and friendlier than you who I know is going, I would. Wow, is this the general attitude towards new riders and people new to SF? Naturally I did do a Google search, but I happened to do a map search not a web search. Thanks asshole.

      • I also asked a friend who’s lived here 22 years, and he had never heard of it. In general, it really would be helpful to actually have an address for the start location, as this seems to be the official info source for the ride.

      • magellan

        Hi Abram,
        Sorry, What I typed was rude, I have no excuse, I apologize.
        Nobody else has this attitude, I was wrong.
        My hope is that you can forgive me and we can all have a fun ride on Friday.

      • abram

        Hey Magellan, it was quite pleasant and slightly hilarious meeting you in person. I hope to see you on the next ride. I just might head over to the east bay and ride the Oakland party too. It was quite a night.

      • magellan

        Hey Abram, true that!
        If I hadn’t been there and seen for myself how it all worked out,
        I don’t know that I would have believed it.
        Chalk it up to the magic that is Bike Party.

  2. missmikaela

    Here is a google link to a Map of McCovey Cove. It’s directly behind AT&T Park (where the SF Giants play Baseball) https://maps.google.ca/maps?q=McCovey+Cove+SF&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF-8&ei=hvfAUNDZKcKDywHyiYCgBQ&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAA
    The general attitude of San Francisco bike party is one of inclusion and radical self reliance. We strive to create an event that everyone can participate in. We finalize our route the Wednesday before BP and post the turn guide and map soon after. We hope you can join us. magellan@google.com does not represent SFBP or the way we hope to welcome new riders.

  3. missmikaela

    On the map linked above we are meeting in the green area labeled “China Basin Park

  4. Dave

    Can we drop off toys at the beginning of the ride? I would rather not carry around a toy as I ride as I just don’t have any place to safely carry it! Otherwise, maybe I’ll just make arrangements to drop a toy off at another time.

    • missmikaela

      We have cargo bikes and will be collecting toys at the meetup at McCovey Cove as well as every party stop. Please bring it with you and you can leave it with us as soon as you arrive! Thanks for donating!

  5. missmikaela

    We have cargo bikes and will be collecting toys at the meetup at McCovey Cove as well as every party stop. Please bring it with you and you can leave it with us as soon as you arrive! Thanks for donating!

  6. Pingback: SF Bike Party #24 « I Love Biking SF